Celebrating Excellence in Local Government

Celebrating Excellence in Local Government

Truehawk Media sponsored the first award dedicated to communications at the Chambers Ireland Excellence in Local Government Awards at the end of November.

The awards have been held for 19 years acknowledging the best initiatives across Ireland at local government level. This year’s finalists were all inspirational, effective programmes and campaigns that enhanced their areas and communities.

The communications award shortlisted outstanding campaigns that engage public, promote services, encourage tourism, support businesses, and increase understanding of local government. This year’s winner was Kildare County Council who were recognised for their campaign to raise awareness of Kildare’s County Development Plan through engaging different audiences and areas. They competed with four other councils (Fingal County Council, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, Limerick City & County Council, Donegal County Council) with remarkable entries.


This year the awards took place at the Crowne Plaza in Santry, split into sixteen different categories focusing areas such as sustainable communities, climate change, age friendly initiatives, communications, health and wellbeing, tourism, diversity, economic development, arts, heritage and enhancement of urban areas.

The ceremony was held in association with the Department of Housing, Local Government & Heritage and Waterford to showcase and celebrate the best of Local Government in Ireland.


The full list of winners below:

Supporting Sustainable Communities Award:
Limerick City & County Council – New Build Incremental Purchase System

Climate Change Award:
Mayo County Council – Mayo Decarbonising Communities Network

Communications Award:
Kildare County Council – Understanding Kildare’s County Development Plan

Health & Wellbeing Award:
Waterford City & County Council – Ireland’s First Outdoor Learn to Cycle Track opens in Dungarvan

Supporting Tourism Award:
Mayo County Council – Clew Bay Bike Trail

Diversity & Inclusion Award:
Dublin City Council – Academy of the Near Future

Promoting Economic Development Award:
Limerick City & County Council – Engine Hubs Network

Local Authority Innovation Award:
South Dublin County Council – Think Big Space in partnership with AWS

Sustainable Environment Award:
Cork City Council – Cork City Council Air Quality Strategy

Sustaining the Arts Award:
Clare County Council – HOUSE! An open-air aerial spectacular

Festival of the Year Award:
Clare County Council – Ennis Mela

Initiative through the Municipal Districts Award:
Carlow County Council – Ru:Rban – Urbact

Enhancing the Urban Environment Award:
Limerick City & County Council – Castletroy Urban Greenway

Heritage and Built Environment Award:
Donegal County Council – Single large-scale heritage-led urban regeneration project in Ramelton

Age Friendly Initiative Award:
Wexford County Council – Wexford Telehealth Project

Local Authority of the Year:
Clare County Council